Home / Gouvernment / Hungary refuses to open borders to Morocco

Hungary refuses to open borders to Morocco

Classified as one of the 14 “safe” countries by the European Union, Morocco was not accepted by Hungary, however. A decision that seems curious.

The Hungarian government of Prime Minister Viktor Orbán, for health reasons, said on Thursday July 2 that it rejected the list of 14 “safe” countries. The latter was prepared by the European Union and allows nationals of these countries to enter the Schengen area. As a result, it rejects Morocco and the others and accepts only Serbia.

This position of Hungary is surprising because the decision to draw up a list of “safe” countries has been taken collectively within the European Union, even if it is subject to reservations. The latter stipulates that each Member State remains sovereign in order to apply or not its provisions.

Recall that the list of 14 countries includes Australia, Algeria, Canada, South Korea, Georgia and Japan. Other countries like Morocco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Serbia, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and Rwanda are also on this list.

Check Also

Morocco-Israel: RAM concludes cooperation agreement with El Al

Royal Air Maroc (RAM) and the Israeli airline EL AL have signed a Memorandum of …

One comment

  1. Merci pour le partage

Leave a Reply