Home / Banking / Morocco still in EU gray list of tax havens

Morocco still in EU gray list of tax havens

Morocco is still on the “gray” list of tax havens in the European Union, according to the list unveiled on Tuesday. The Kingdom is considered to be a country which “cooperates with the EU in the implementation of its commitments”. The EU list evolves with each update. Thus, the status of a country will be reviewed regularly and may change after the implementation of its commitments. In other words, Morocco has not taken enough steps to get out of the gray list since the last update.

The EU has added the Caimans, a British overseas territory, to the blacklist of tax havens as well as three other countries (Panama, Seychelles and Palau). This blacklist now includes twelve jurisdictions. American Samoa, Fiji, Guam, Oman, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, the US Virgin Islands and Vanuatu were already present.

“The work on the list of non-cooperative countries and territories for tax purposes is based on an in-depth evaluation, monitoring and dialogue process with some seventy third countries and territories. Since we started this process, almost nine countries have implemented the tax reforms necessary to comply with EU criteria,” said Zdravko Marić, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of Croatia.

Recall that the Minister of Economy and Finance, Mohamed Benchaâboun, recently discussed questions relating to taxation with Paolo Gentiloni, the European Commissioner for Economic and Monetary Affairs, Taxation and the Customs Union.

Check Also

Dams in Morocco show a filling rate of barely 25.8%

Morocco is experiencing an unprecedented water shortage. The situation is worsening day by day as …

Leave a Reply