Home / Sport / Euro 2020: the draw for the qualifications

Euro 2020: the draw for the qualifications

This Sunday afternoon took place in Dublin the draw for qualifying for the Euro 2020. The team of France and the other 54 nations therefore know the identity of their opponents. The Blues will face Turkey, Iceland, Albania, Moldova and Andorra. The meetings will take place between March and November 2019.

The team of France will therefore know this Sunday afternoon its opponents for qualifying for the Euro 2020. The seed of pot 1, France is sure to avoid the other nations of this pot as Belgium, Spain, Italy, Croatia or Poland, but also the four countries qualified for the Final Four of the League of Nations (England, the Netherlands, Portugal, Switzerland). The first two teams from each group will qualify for the final phase, which runs from 12 June to 12 July, 2020.

Giorgio Marchetti (Deputy Secretary General of UEFA), Ronnie Whelan, Robbie Keane (former Irish internationals), Nuno Gomes and Vitor Baia (former Portuguese internationals) held the draw. And this one has reserved a program for the least original to the Blues world champions. In Group H, Didier Deschamps’s men will face Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova and Andorra. For its part, the Portuguese European champion is in a homogeneous group with Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania and Luxembourg.

Germany, winner of the World Cup in 2014 will once again find the Netherlands and will also cross Northern Ireland, Estonia and Belarus. In Group A, England inherited a complicated group with the Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro and Kosovo. Finalist of the last World Cup in Russia, Croatia will face Wales, Slovakia, Hungary and Azerbaijan. In Group F, Luis Enrique’s Spain will cross the road to Sweden, Norway, Romania, the Faroe Islands and Malta. A semi-finalist of the World Cup against France, Belgium will play against Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan and San Marino.

The composition of the groups

Group A: England, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro, Kosovo

Group B: Portugal, Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg

Group C: Netherlands, Germany, Northern Ireland, Estonia, Byelorussia

Group D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar

Group E: Croatia, Wales, Slovakia, Hungary, Azerbaijan

Group F: Spain, Sweden, Norway, Romania, Faroe Islands, Malta

Group G: Poland, Austria, Israel, Slovenia, Macedonia, Latvia

Group H: France, Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova, Andorra

Group I: Belgium, Russia, Scotland, Cyprus, Kazakhstan, San Marino

Group J: Italy, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia, Liechtenstein

Check Also

Futsal: Morocco 1st in Africa and 8th globally

From 10th place, Moroccan Futsal players are now 8th in the world. Hicham Dguig’s men …

Leave a Reply