Home / Aviation / Morocco among the countries authorized to travel in the Schengen area

Morocco among the countries authorized to travel in the Schengen area

Two weeks after the publication of the list of 15 safe countries to which the European Union has reopened its borders, it updated it in the light of the epidemiological situation of these countries in the running. Unsurprisingly, Morocco has been kept on this amputated list of two countries.

During the biweekly update on Tuesday by the EU, discussions revolved around keeping these countries on the top list. If 13 countries were retained on this list, two countries were withdrawn after the discussions of the 27 countries of the European Union. These are Serbia and Montenegro. For the agency, these discussions were aimed at removing Algeria and Morocco from the list of safe countries.

Thanks to the vote of 55% of the Member States, representing at least 65% of the total population of the EU, Morocco was finally maintained. The strong measures put in place by the kingdom to counter the coronavirus pandemic weighed heavily in the balance.

Among the 13 safe countries authorized to travel in the Schengen area are Algeria, Australia, Canada, China, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

As a reminder, this list, which is updated every two weeks, is only a recommendation of the European Union and the 27 Member States can choose to follow all or part of it.

Check Also

RAM postpones launch of flights from Morocco to Israel

Royal Air Maroc (RAM), the Moroccan national airline, announced that it was delaying the launch …

Leave a Reply